Quick Note: Dreams and Obsessions

Just a quick note.

A few days ago, I had a dream about Zayn (ex-member of One Direction) being my older sister’s ex-boyfriend. He was in my house for some reason, apologizing to my sister, and just being really nice overall. It was weird and random to say the least. But after that dream, I couldn’t stop thinking of him. I hadn’t really liked him previous to this dream, mind you, but I couldn’t help but think of him as he had been in my dream, a really nice and cute guy. So I tried to brush it off and continue on with my life. But then I had a dream about being in a The 1975 concert and meeting the lead singer, Matty Healy. He, much like Zayn, was a complete and utter sweetheart to me in the dream even though I was acting like a crazy fan. Now, I love The 1975 so I haven’t been able to brush off the obsession that ensued. All I do now is think about the band, or more specifically, Matty. I spend my afternoons swooning while watching interviews and live shows of them. This makes me feel a little unhinged because I can only listen to their music now and have weird daydreams where I hang out with them. This brings me to the question of how much do dreams really affect you? I usually can’t remember most of my dreams and they’re usually not even that pleasant but remembering these two pleasant and vivid dreams has thrown me off.

Questions about dreams aren’t new but they’ve been bothering me for the past week. I love/hate the dreams I’ve had. I love them because they were so nice and made me happy but I hate them because they’ve created obsession within me when I should really be focusing on my senior year work and college applications. I don’t even know if this is normal or if I’m just even weirder than I thought. Either way, I need to FOCUS because I didn’t even bother to think about dreams before this. Is this what people who always have nice dreams feel? UGH! This is too distracting. (See what I did there?) My brain should make me dream about finishing applications and essays so that I can get motivated and actually have a good obsession that’ll lead me to being productive.

Anyway, that’s it. I feel like this was way too long to be a quick note but yeah, that’s it.

Leave a Reply

