What happened?

 

Being a teenager in 2016 is not the same as being a teenager in the early 2000’s. Besides the obvious difference in technology, so many aspects of it have changed and the one that’s been bothering me the most lately is romance. What’s up with today’s hook up culture? Romance at my age is dead. Officially dead. I can’t remember the last time I told my friends, someone liked someone else. It’s always someone hooked up with someone else at this party. I can count the number of couples I know with one hand.

What happened? The early 2000’s was THE time for romance. I remember when my sister was in high school and her boyfriend burnt CDs with songs that reminded him of her. I know, CDs. Seems prehistoric. The most action I see is someone “sliding” into a girl’s DM. And it’s not even slightly romantic considering that he probably did it because of her pretty bikini pictures and not her Brainy Quotes captions.

My sister used to talk on the phone all day with her boyfriend. If they had a really serious fight, he would come to the house to apologize. He practically lived in my house because he was always there watching movies with my sister, eating ice-cream or fries that he bought for her. I haven’t seen that again since then. There’s only one couple in my circle of friends while the rest, both female and male, assure me they don’t want anything serious. (UPDATE: They broke up after two years together.) They have the right to feel that way but why has that been everyone‘s mindset since we started high school and why has it never changed? No one in my class is even angsty and that’s even more worrying. We’re teenagers, we’re supposed to be angsty and moody all the time! I know I’m angsty; I’ve had my fair share of times where I feel like the world is against me and everything is unfair and I have to listen to Simple Plan’s I’m Just a Kid while sighing dramatically. In comparison, my classmates are happy with their parents as long as they can keep partying and drinking which is the only thing that hasn’t changed since then. I mean, even going back to the romance, where are all the teenager movies like 10 Things I Hate About You and She’s All That or even more recent movies like She’s the Man and John Tucker Must Die? Granted, they weren’t Oscar-winning movies with complex plots but they were really entertaining  to teenagers back then and now me. But none of my friends enjoy them. It could be that I’m just weird but it could also be that my generation has changed.

People don’t go on dates to later become couples or decide that they didn’t have enough chemistry. People go to parties where they meet or are introduced guys or girls with whom they’ll see again in other parties or maybe even text a little just to hook up and never talk to them again. At least, that’s all I see. And even the few relationships that exist aren’t respected. I mean, I was at a party the other day when a cute guy approached me and luckily, I didn’t do anything with him except dance because as it turns out, he has a girlfriend. Even worse, I know way too many people who have hooked up with randoms only to find out they have girlfriends later on.

What has happened? Where is the romance? Where is the angst? What ever happened to teenagers? I don’t have the slightest clue but I’ll stay here watching Drive Me Crazy, hoping someone shares my thoughts. 

 

2 comments

  1. colourmeclueless · November 12

    If it helps, I didn’t meet my boyfriend at a party. We’re both 20 and completely, hopelessly in love and been together just over 2 years 🙂 There is hope, plus those movies you’re talking about are making there apperance again slowly 🙂

    Like

    • ellablue · November 29

      Aww, I’m so glad to hear that! I do have hope when I hear stories like yours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

