ACOTAR & ACOMAF

I’m dying.

In a good way. Sort of.

It sounds strange and perhaps even impossible to some but it’s exactly how I feel. The book, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas came out on May 15, 2015. I remember browsing the kindle store and seeing a free sample of the first four chapters of the book. The cover caught my attention and the synopsis even more. I remember reading it and being frustrated that the book hadn’t come out yet. I remember pre-ordering it and waiting patiently for May 15, achieving patience simply because I was lucky I had discovered the book weeks before it was published. I remember reading and enjoying every second of it. I remember it making my heart skip a beat in both fear and joy so many times. I remember finishing the book and regretting it. I didn’t want such a good story to end. I remember being completely obsessed with Rhysand. I remember being disappointed there wasn’t any fanart and me attempting to draw him. Something I never finished as I carried on and the book went to the back of my mind. Then, one day, I saw the sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury in my library but I felt like I wasn’t ready. I was stressed out and knew I wasn’t going to read it with as much as attention as the book deserved so I put it off. And suddenly, almost a year had passed and I kept saying I still wasn’t ready. Christmas break came and I saw it in my library and thought, if I’m not ready now, I never will be. So I reread A Court of Thorns and Roses and fell in love with it once again. It was more amazing than I had remembered and it affected me more deeply than I though it would. I didn’t sleep for the entirety of Christmas Break because I was up all night, every single day reading it. And when I tried to sleep, I couldn’t. My mind was too wired up, thinking about it.

When I finished and began the sequel, it affected me even more. The story was compelling and full of so many plot twists I could have never imagined. I can usually predict plot twists, but I was constantly surprised in A Court of Mist and Fury. The characters were strong but they were real, and thus so much more captivating. Their struggles were understandable without being frustrating and it was so easy to get up caught up in the story and I’m not even mentioning the wonderful world-building and mythology Maas did. I wish I could write exactly how it makes me feel but the emotions it evokes are so strong, my thoughts are scrambled. Even thinking about the books now is making my stomach feel weird and my heart beat faster. It sounds ridiculous but it’s true. I’m a person that is deeply moved by the smallest of things including books. It’s one of the reasons I love to read so much. The feelings books give to readers are amazing. But it’s been a long time or even the first time, a book has affected me so much. I’m sure this blog post seems messy but that’s exactly how my mind gets when I think about these books.

A Court of Wings and Ruin, the third book is coming out next week and I’m not sure I’m emotionally prepared. Should I reread the books again, as I always do and give up sleep for the next few weeks or just wait? The plot is still fresh in my mind, something that’s strange since I tend to be forgetful in when I wait for a sequel since I read so many books in between. I DON’T KNOW! These books are amazing and I guess this is an appreciation post. I’m not sure if everyone would love these books since they have a lot of fantasy which is something I enjoy but I know not everyone does. But if you find yourself slightly interested, please read them. Or don’t because you’ll be dying like me. Wish me good luck people, because I’m going to need it to continue living after I start reading the story again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

